Perspective: Seeing the World Through Another’s Eyes

We enjoy exploring so much that we hardly to the same place more than once.  A few of our exceptions are Walt Disney World, which can NOT be seen in one visit, and Harrison, Nebraska, which is family and riding horses and roping cattle for wild west fun.

My family loves horseback riding to round-up the cattle.   I, on the other hand, can take it or leave it.  Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy riding; however, I would cover more land on an ATV.  Plus, I know how to control the machine better than the animal.

It is the thought of riding a four-wheeler that led us to one of the most educational and exciting excursions of our trip in Costa Rica.  Sure, we could have ridden horses on the beach or through town.  But, to race along the roads, the beaches, and the muddy trails on a four-wheeler would be awesome!IMG_0443

Originally, I did not think we would be able to do this adventure.  According to websites, all drivers had to be 18 or older and only two of our six qualified.  However, we learned that some rules were overlooked.  We had three licensed drivers, so we were good to go.

Our guide showed us a troop of howler monkeys, let the younger kids drive on the beach, and gave us a lesson on education in Costa Rica.  Luis told us how fortunate he was.  His parents were able to send him to a private school.

My children were surprised to hear what fortunate meant in Costa Rica.  First of all, Luis did not attend a preschool or kindergarten.  He started in first grade by riding a bus for one hour to an English immersion school.  Imagine, being seven years old, riding on a bus for an hour, having the teachers speak a different language, and then getting back on the bus for an hour ride home. My children were flabbergasted to hear what Luis did for an education.  I will have to keep you posted on when my kids forget that others have it a little tougher than them.  (I predict it will happen next week when our drive to school takes six minutes.)

I do know that my wife and I were reminded of how fortunate our family is. IMG_0473

2 Comments

Filed under Education, Lessons from students, Vacations

2 responses to “Perspective: Seeing the World Through Another’s Eyes

  1. Travel, for me, is exciting not just for the sights and personal experiences but because I get to KNOW how other people have lived and continue to live. As a result, I am grateful for what I have. And not just the big things either. A comfortable warm bed, a roof that doesn’t leak, hot water (let alone just cold water) at the turn of a tap! Music, in stereo, at the flick of a button. So many tiny, little things that make our privileged lives so comfortable. While others have to walk miles for dirty water, have no sanitation and live in poverty.
    Now here’s a thought: How would your students feel about adopting a school overseas and writing to the students about each others lives. Creative writing meets social awareness perhaps?
    Loved the post.

Leave a Reply

