Warm Fuzzies and Smiley Faces

education

education (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

Teaching high school has had some perks.  When my children were younger, I knew who the most responsible babysitters were.  However, at the end of the year, teacher gifts and thank-yous are not the norm. Nonetheless, I do get a few.  And, I always get that warm fuzzy feeling when a student or parent writes me a thank you.

I am sure his mom made him do it, but what he wrote is definitely his own work:

Dear Mr. ,

I really enjoyed your class despite having it with an ex-girlfriend.  Your a really cool teacher and I love your jokes despite how bad they are and thanks for living through all the sentences our class wrote about you.

Sincerely,

And what does this note tell me?

1. English class is more fun if one can share it with a girlfriend.

2. Bad jokes are cool?

3. Continuing to live even though students try to insult you with vocabulary words is a good thing.

4. I did not teach the difference between “you’re” and “your” very well.

5. Missing periods can be bad.

2 Comments

Filed under Education, Humor, Lessons from students, Teacher Evaluations, Writing

2 responses to “Warm Fuzzies and Smiley Faces

  1. So it’s bad that I’m in my late 20’s, and just now started using “you’re” and “your” correctly?

  2. And it should be 20s since the 20 does not posses anything… 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

