There is Hope!

There is always hope!  Each day I see some amazing acts of kindness from the freshman I teach.  Recently, I have watched students share the novel Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myers with classmates who could not acquire a copy in time for our class assignments.  No judgement was made; I asked if anyone could loan a copy of the novel to another student during our silent reading time.  Every student who did not have a book was given one by a generous classmate.

A few years ago, I saw an amazingly mature and kind display from a ninth grader.  For one reason or another we went into a lockdown.  I went into the hallway and ordered  any student not in a classroom to come into my room.  It so happens, Ian, a mentally handicapped young man was at his locker next to my room.  I knew Ian because he always had a smile and a hello.  Plus, I knew he did not like change very well.

I invited him into my classroom with the trepidation that the ninth graders would be immature and say something inappropriate.  Was I ever wrong!  Several students said, “Hello Ian!” and one young lady moved over to a desk near his and began to talk to him.  He was nervous due to the change in his schedule, but she made him feel at ease.  After a while, we were able to return to our work and include Ian.

I learned that I should never underestimate the students I teach.  They are caring people and only need the opportunity to show the world.

1 Comment

Filed under Lessons from students

One response to “There is Hope!

  1. Absolutely true. Ian gave so much to all of us through his generous and loving spirit. He works at the Lancaster- Fairfield medical Center where he is appreciated very much. Everyday we can participate in random acts of kindness and love. The gifts are in the giving and receiving.

Leave a Reply

